That one fret stretch; Ring to Pinky – F Mixo First Position

Home Forums (Vol1 & 2) Heptatonic Fingering Patterns That one fret stretch; Ring to Pinky – F Mixo First Position

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    HellhoundsOnMe
    Participant

Hello. After using many courses I am very excited about this one. I have been playing for 8 years and have found my first obstacle with course.

The obstacle is that when playing F Mixolydian in the first position, I found out that my fingering is different from Rich’s. On string 6, I go 1-3-5 (first finger, second finger, and then fourth finger). Rich goes 1, 3, 4 – stretching between his ring finger and his pinky.

My question is, is it imperative that I adopt his fingering? With practice, I can make that little stretch/jump but I cannot finger both frets at the same time in that position.

Thanks!!

Richie
      Keymaster

Hi John,

The ring to pinky finger stretch is difficult in the beginning and is by no means imperative. For the longest time, I used my index, middle and pinky over a 5 fret stretch. This works fine. However after learning why some guitarists I admire used the ring instead of middle finger in what we are calling Pattern 1, I started practicing and eventually developed the new habit.