Heptatonic system vs CAGED

Home Forums (Vol1 & 2) Heptatonic Fingering Patterns Heptatonic system vs CAGED

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Jones PEREIRA JR
    Participant

Hi Richie.
      Is it mandatory to learn and use the heptatonic system to enjoy the course?
      I’ve been using the CAGED system (5 positions) for many, many years and I have perfect mastery of scales and arpeggios using 5 positions system… thanks!

Richie
      Keymaster

Hi Jones,

The Heptatonic System is simply the Caged System plus 2 added fingerings conventionally not included. What I find hard to understand is why after mastering the 5 fingerings of the CAGED, anyone would have a problem learning an additional 2 which are only going to open up more possibilities?

Whether or not you can enjoy the course without the additional fingerings, I feel shouldn’t be your main concern. Instead, I think maybe the question should be whether or not you can benefit from it? I surely think so, is my answer! However, I will leave it to others who may read this post to give their unbiased opinion.

Having said all of this, please be aware that many great jazz guitarists who use the CAGED system actually end up using all 7 fingerings. I’ve talked to several and many consider Patterns 2 and 3 as 2 variations of the “G” in the CAGED system, and Patterns 5 and 6 as 2 variations for the “C”. Most just keep calling it CAGED.