Chord Studies before Module 1

Home Forums (Vol1 & 2) Other Chord Studies before Module 1

Tagged: 

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Rob
    Participant

Hi Richie,

This looks like a good course, and I’m determined to make it to the end.

The chord studies before Module 1 – play 7th chords around the cycle, in all three positions. OK.

But then you say we must know ii/V/I sequences, again around the cycle in three positions, and then extended chords in vi/ii/V/I sequences around the cycle, in three positions. This is a LOT of work before Module 1 begins.

Now, I’m a reasonably advanced guitarist, and can do all this, though I had to stop and think quite a few times, and could have been quicker. But I imagine a lot of players would find that difficult to do, at least to do well. I was thinking I would have to master this before proceeding. But like, I imagine, most students here, I looked ahead, and Module 1 is nowhere near as difficult.

So, I’m a bit confused – do you expect everyone to master these chord sequences before tackling the first module, or is it something we should keep returning to as the months go by?

Cheers,

Rob

guitarplayer007
      Participant

I think you do both at the same time, remember this course is about Linear improvisation, not playing chords or comping.
        just my 2 cents.
        ken

James
        Participant

I look forward to Richie’s reply too, as I had the same questions; that’s a LOT of pre-work, if it really IS pre-work.

guitarplayer007
          Participant

You won’t be using the chord studies that I can see in any of the modules…I’m on Module 4

guitarplayer007
            Participant

FYI I worked on chords while working on Module 1

Richie
              Keymaster

Hi Robert,